Stephens County Commissioners will welcome and swear in new District 3 commissioner Russell Morgan this morning.

Morgan won the special election last Tuesday beating four candidates to fill out the remaining year of former commissioner Dee Bowen’s term.

He will be sworn in during the regular meeting of the Stephen’s County Commissioners Tuesday morning.

Morgan received 341 votes (40.45 percent) of the total 843 ballots cast at the nine precincts in District 3.

Morgan’s closest opponent, Tony Mitchell, received 239 votes (28.35 percent).

Andy Powers received 112 votes, Terry Bishop got 110 and Emzla Pitts received a total of 41 votes.

The commissioners are also slated to discuss other items of business, including a Software User Agreement between Colussus Inc. and Stephens County for mobile units to be used by the Stephens County Sheriff Department.

The board will also take action to approve a cooperative purchasing enrollment agreement between the National Joint Powers Alliance and Stephens County for the purchases of goods and services.

They will also acknowledge an interim order of the commission issued by the Corporation Commission of the State of Oklahoma on behalf of Continental Resources Inc. The order would approve a multi-unit horizontal well in the 640-acre drilling and spacing units located in Sections 29 and 32, Township 1 North, Range 5 West in Stephens County.

The meeting will begin at 9:30 a.m. in the Stephens County Courthouse located at 101 S. 11th St., Room 200.

Trending Video

Recommended for you