1-28 DAEDF board.jpg

Jay Watkins, left, and Robert Petersen, right, are two of the recently elected Duncan Area Economic Development Foundation board members.

Three new board members were elected to the Duncan Area Economic Development Foundation on Monday during the annual membership meeting.

Robert Petersen, Jay Watkins and Joe Pierce were approved to serve three-year terms on the foundation board.

“DAEDF is a great organization and one we’ve always looked to be a part of,” said Petersen, First Bank & Trust president and CEO. “It’s an honor to be extended the opportunity to serve on the board.”

Watkins, an attorney and partner for Leach & Sullivan, also is enthusiastic about his election.

“Duncan is a great town and I look forward to attracting new businesses and retaining the businesses we have,” he said.

 Pierce, pharmacist for R&S Drug #3, was chosen to serve a new, three-year term on the board after he completed the unexpired term of Cindy Ross, former president of Cameron University.

Ben Herrington, BancFirst president, and Jimmy Cooper, a Halliburton retiree, will vacate their respective posts as chairman and vice chairman of the foundation board because of the two-term limits placed on board service.

Each were presented  a plaque by Lyle Roggow, DAEDF president, during the meeting.

“We want to express our sincerest thanks for a job well done and for all the time and effort you have put in,” said Roggow.

Roggow also gave a presentation highlighting the DAEDF achievements last year and  projects the foundation is looking forward to this year.

“There are projects we’re not close to being able to talk about and others we are almost ready to talk about,” he said. “There are a few that are so close, I wish I could talk about them today.”

DAEDF efforts have been validated through data received from the Oklahoma Department of Commerce and the website nerdwallet.com, he said.

Trending Video