A distinguished teacher from Stephens County received recognized at a national level for her skills inside the classroom.

Brigit Minden, a teacher at Central High Public School in Marlow, received a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The PAEMST is a national award to recognize the dedication and hard work of well-deserving educators.

The PAEMST, established in 1983, is the highest recognition for teachers in the country.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister issued her congratulations.

“These dedicated educators have excelled in crafting engaging, hands-on lessons in science, technology, engineering and math for students in Oklahoma,” Hofmeister said. “They are incredibly deserving of this national award and represent the exceptional talent of teachers in our state.”

While teaching for 10 years, Minden was recognized as Teacher of the Year in 2016.

Minden’s accomplishments in teaching provide students with creative opportunities to learn about math and science.

Minden served on the writing team for the Oklahoma Mathematics Frameworks for three years. She also serves on the OKMath Advisory Board. In the class, she uses hands-on learning, including lessons such as zip-lining dolls for right triangle trigonometry functions, building solar hot dog cookers for parabolas and discovering conic sections made out of modeling clay.

“I am passionate in sharing that no one is ‘bad at math.’ Most people just haven't had the right experiences yet,” Minden said.

Minden, a Cameron alumna, also received congratulations from President John McArthur with Cameron University.

“Cameron University congratulates Brigit Minden for this prestigious award,” Dr. McArthur said. “As a mathematician myself, I am inspired by Mrs. Minden’s dedication to her students and her passion for her subject matter, which encompasses algebra, geometry, and trigonometry. We are proud to call her a CU alumna.”

After receiving this prestigious honor, Minden will receive a trip to Washington D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. She will receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation, including a signed certificate by the President of the United States.

Trending Video

Recommended for you