Gov. Kevin Stitt made the executive nomination of Jan Gaddis, a Duncan attorney, to serve on the Forensic Review Board, which was unanimously approved by the Senate this week.

According to a release on the appointment, Sen. Paul Scott, R-Duncan, made the nomination before the Senate Public Safety Committee sometime last month and again before the full senate on Monday.

Scott said Gaddis, a “pillar” in the Duncan community, has worked “around the state helping people fight for their rights, both civilly and in the workplace.”

“She is a true public servant having helped numerous local charities including the Stephens County Humane Society and the Duncan Community Residence,” Scott said. “Serving on the Forensic Review Board will offer her yet another opportunity to let her gifts and talents shine. It was a privilege carrying her nomination in the Senate and her service to the state is greatly appreciated.”
Gaddis, who has practiced law since 1988 and established her own firm in 1994, can practice in Oklahoma, the Federal District Courts of Oklahoma in the Northern, Eastern, and Western Districts, the Tenth Circuit and the United States Supreme Court, according to a release. She graduated from Oklahoma City University’s School of Law and “specializes in employment discrimination and civil rights litigation.”

Her five-year term, according to information from the Senate, will last until Dec. 31, 2024, in the place of Yukon Attorney Michael Segler.

The Forensic Review Board, put together in 2008, is comprised of seven members and determines “which individuals housed with the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services are eligible for therapeutic visits, conditional release or discharge.” The board can also “make recommendations to the courts of the counties where individuals are found not guilty by reason of insanity” and “make rules concerning the granting and structure of therapeutic visits, conditional releases and discharges.” Of the seven members, four are licensed mental health professionals, one is a retired judge, one is an attorney and the other is an at-large member. All recommendations for those sitting on the board come from the Department of Mental Health, the Board of Governors of the Oklahoma Bar Association and the Judicial Nominating Committee.

Trending Video

Recommended for you