DUNCAN — Among those arrested in Stephens County recently are a woman charged with endangering the lives of children by drinking and driving, and a man who has allegedly failed to file as a sex offender for two years. Another change is a change of address for a man who was arrested in Duncan for child sexual abuse and sentenced to 30 years in prison.
Woman charged with child endangerment by driving under the influence
A Duncan woman is facing two felony charges and two misdemeanors after she was pulled over by Oklahoma Highway Patrol troopers late Thursday night.
Sarah Renee Powell was arrested the day before her 31st birthday. According to the affidavit, Powell was driving northbound on Second Street near the intersection of Oklahoma Highway 7, when she “failed to come to a complete stop.”
OHP Trooper Nathan Mackey, who filed the affidavit, noted after pulling Powell over that she “had slurred speech, bloodshot watery eyes and also noticed a strong odor of an alcoholic beverage coming from inside the vehicle.”
Two children were also in the vehicle, including an 8-year-old in the front passenger seat and a 6-year-old in the back seat, according to the affidavit. While Mackey was talking with Powell, she told him “No, I haven’t drank anything anyways,” after he asked to perform a breath test. After the car was transported to impound, Mackey “located an open 12 ounce container of Milwaukee’s Best in the passenger side, where the 8-year-old girl had been sitting. The open container was cold and had a small amount of beer left in it.”
Two unopened cans were also found in the rear floorboard, according to the affidavit.
Powell is charged with a felony count of child endangerment by driving under the influence, which is punishable by up to four years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine; a felony count of driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs, which is punishable by one to five years in prison and a $2,500 fine; a misdemeanor count of driving with a suspended licenses, which is punishable by a fine not less than $100 and not more than $500, and/or imprisonment for not more than a year in the county jail; and a misdemeanor charge of transporting an open container of beer, which is punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a fine up to $500.