The Duncan Banner

December 13, 2012

County puts 16 players on All-District A4 Team

The Banner Staff
The Duncan Banner

DUNCAN — During the 2012 season, the Velma-Alma Comets got another taste of playoff success, reaching the second round for the second consecutive season.

Now, more success is coming the way of the Comets, along with other Stephens County teams with the announcement of the District A-4 All District team.

Dallen Mercer was named Offensive Player of the Year, with teammate Robert Suttles receiving Offensive Lineman of the Year. Checotah Lynn nabbed the award of Wide Receiver of the Year.

Empire also grabbed two player of the year awards with senior quarterback Tanner Shorter being named the Quarterback of the Year, while Corbin Henderson was a Co-Defensive End of the Year award winner.

Bray-Doyle was represented by Dylan Sparks who was named Tight End of the Year, along with Chris Womack who was a Co-Linebacker of the Year.

On the first team list, V-A’s Austin Dennis, Brandon Sage and Ty Dulworth represented the Comets.

Empire placed Kylar Walls, C.J. Lee, Freddy Larsen, and Aaron Key on the first-team list as well.

Bray-Doyle’s lone representative on the first team was defensive back Austin Long, while teammate Kevin Norris made the second team list.