The Duncan Banner

July 24, 2013

Five of six first round leaders win at Hoedebeck

Sean Gorman
The Duncan Banner

DUNCAN — In the final round of the Hoedebeck Memorial Tournament, those who started the day in first were in no mood to surrender the leads they had gained after the first round.

Five of the six day one leaders continued to perform down the stretch, hanging on to win their age group at the annual event.

The two day tournament has been held since 1980 in rememberance of former Duncan resident Darren Hoedebeck, who was hit and killed by a drunk driver in high school. The field included six age groups ranging from  nine to 18 years old.

After shooting a tournament-best 69 on day one, Justin Powell came back down to earth with a 79 Wednesday, but it was enough to claim the Boys 15-18 title. Powell hung on to beat Duncan High golfer Blake Graham by one stroke with a final score of 148.

The field was not as competitive in the Boys 12-14 division, as Zac Strader beat the next closest payer by 16 strokes with a 155.

Hagen Sanchez lost a four stroke lead to Caden Stevens after nine holes, but recovered to win the Boys 9-11 championship after beating Stevens out on a playoff hole.

In the Girls 15-18, ShaeLee Scarberry shot her best score of the tournament with a 76 en route to a comfortable five-shot victory over Breanna Smith with a 157.

The only shift on the leaderboard came in the Girls 12-14 field, where Kaylee Petersen overtook Vanessa Moore for first with a total score of 87.

With just two golfers playing, the Girls 9-11 division belonged to Gentry Cox, who defeated Courtney Petersen.