The Duncan Banner

Opinion

Opinion
  • Dorman a likely candidate

    Joe Dorman, who for the past 11 years has represented District 65 of the Oklahoma House of Representatives that includes the northernmost tip of Stephens County, is serious about seeking the governor’s job.
    He knows running against an incumbent is a challenge.
    He realizes a lot of money must be raised to conduct a reputable campaign.
    He understands a strong economy might prompt many to assume all is well in the Sooner state.

    January 5, 2014

  • Program generosity shows caring, concern

    News of the impending success of the 2013-14 United Way of Stephens County campaign brings to mind a significant point about the place we all call home.
    Duncan and Stephens County are full of generous people.
    You only have to think of the massive volunteer efforts to make clear the point.

    January 5, 2014

  • Celebrating the birth of Christ

    Today we celebrate the birth of Christ. I think the birth, death and resurrection of Christ are the most important events in human history. It is proper we mark and celebrate these events. I recognize that December 25th was probably not the day Jesus Christ was born, but it is the season when the world is more aware of the incarnation of God as man.  The scriptures do not command us to celebrate the birth of Christ, but I believe it presents an amazing opportunity for Christians to present the gospel. Allow me to deviate from my normal political commentary to give you three thoughts on Christmas.

    December 25, 2013

  • Let us love our neighbors and ourselves

    My wife asked me to write an article on the different Christmas celebrations our forefathers brought to the New World. Today, thoughtfully, I find myself unable to get past the social failings and present conditions to which many Americans are subjected.
    Every time I attempted to write about faith and good tidings, I was reminded of the greed and uncaring attitudes of too many of today’s people. The reminders are in our everyday lives and often shown in the actions of those we elected to represent us in government.

    December 25, 2013

  • Christmas memories a blessing

    Pause for a moment with me today. Forget the last-minute schedule that may soon create a breakneck pace for the rest of the month, Put aside temporarily that long list of things you still must do.
    Relax and enjoy. Take a deep breath. Allow yourself time to rediscover the beauties of the magnificent holiday season that approaches and enables us to share memories of significance. Be grateful for each of those little blessings.
    Focus. Prepare.
    Remember most of all, for Christians Christmas is Christ and the commemoration of His birth through church festivals, family prayers and silent moments of reflection.

    December 22, 2013

  • Christmas ‘double-dippers’ deserve some sympathy

    It wasn’t that I didn’t like Hank Helms — heck, I liked him a lot. We became pals in Miss Kitchen’s fifth-grade class at Lincoln School, where Hank was given the really cool nickname “Double H.” We were buds until Helms moved from my rural Illinois hometown during high school.
    Hank was a bright guy, a funny guy; liked baseball and basketball, was really into scouting. In grade school, he amazed us with two fabulous tricks: First, he could spin three hula hoops at once, from his armpits down to his hips; and second, Double H was double-jointed. When things got boring in class, the grotesque maneuvers Hank could do with his thumbs kept us amazed and in stitches.

    December 22, 2013

  • Answer is same today as it was then

    “DEAR EDITOR: I am 8 years old.
    “Some of my little friends say there is no Santa Claus.
    “Papa says, ‘If you see it in THE SUN it’s so.’
    “Please tell me the truth; is there a Santa Claus?
    “VIRGINIA O’HANLON.
    “115 WEST NINETY-FIFTH STREET.”

    VIRGINIA, your little friends are wrong. They have been affected by the skepticism of a skeptical age. They do not believe except [what] they see. They think that nothing can be which is not comprehensible by their little minds. All minds, Virginia, whether they be men’s or children’s, are little. In this great universe of ours man is a mere insect, an ant, in his intellect, as compared with the boundless world about him, as measured by the intelligence capable of grasping the whole of truth and knowledge.

    December 22, 2013

  • A Christmas ride to remember

    Eighty-year-old Gerald Marlar hasn’t ridden a bicycle regularly for decades, but he and five of his buddies are making certain Duncan children get that opportunity this Christmas.
    It’s just one of many behind-the-scenes stories that makes The Toy Shop, started by Church Women United in 1944, a special place where magical things happen and selfless, giving deeds create bright, toothpaste smiles each holiday season.
    Marlar, Bill Cope, Glen Peterson, Tom Stone, Ron Coon and Joe Norton have become modern day elves, logging hours in The Toy Shop’s busy bicycle room on Ninth Street, assembling two-wheel masterpieces of all sizes and colors for good little boys and girls and adding a dash of love with each one.

    December 8, 2013

  • Whatever you call him, Santa is loved by all

    Boys and girls of all ages, here is some festive poetic verse I know we all have stored in our memory banks. So, feel free to recite along:
    The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow
    gave the luster of mid-day to objects below.
    When what to my wondering eyes should appear,
    but a miniature sleigh, and eight tiny reindeer.
    With a little old driver so lively and quick,
    I knew in a moment it must be Generous Pho Pho...
    Generous Pho Pho?

    December 8, 2013

  • Fiscal impact of state question 766 for counties, schools, and career technology centers

    On November 12, 2012, S.Q. 766 was on a ballot and went to the vote of the people to eliminate tax assessments on intangible personal property. What you might not know is that prior to the vote of S.Q. 766, legislation was already in place to prevent any NEW tax assessments on intangible personal property.

    December 8, 2013

Poll

Should the date for The World's Largest Garage Sale be changed from the third weekend in July to sometime in October to take advantage of cooler weather like we had this past weekend?

No. It's better in the summer cause kids are out of school.
Yes. More shoppers would come during nice fall weather.
Either time is fine.

     View Results
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.