The Duncan Banner

Opinion

Opinion
  • It benefits us if kids stick with athletics

    If you’ve been paying attention to the evolution of youth and interscholastic sports, you know there’s all sorts of data indicating as children move up in levels the attrition process accelerates and participation numbers thin.

    May 26, 2014

  • Memorial Day deserves respect

      Stop. Before you finish preparing or enjoying that family breakfast, before you complete reading The Banner, before you get ready for church, before you share a bountiful lunch, before you pack the kids in the car for an afternoon excursion, before you take that well deserved nap, before you tee up that first shot, before you leave town to visit friends or before you fire up the grill, take just a few minutes to think about the real meaning behind this three-day holiday weekend.

    May 26, 2014

  • Her beauty came from within

    The words that follow are, selfishly, written for me. They aren’t original. In fact, you may have seen them before. They’re personal, penned during a life-altering moment and repeated annually about a special woman who died 40 years ago.
    They appear today for two reasons. One is as a gesture of love to her and as a tribute to all mothers on this special day. The other is with hope they may evoke an important memory in your life or encourage you to pause and reflect about a person or a moment who or that has meant much to you.

    May 11, 2014

  • I made it this far because Mom persevered

    Proving there is balance in the cosmos and a creator with a sense of humor, I was raised by the two finest people I’ve ever known.
    Louise and Vaughn Kaley weren’t remarkable people just because they’re my mom and dad; they were unique because I’ve spent almost 63 years on the planet and have never discovered two better human beings.

    May 11, 2014

  • Governor, state Legislature have misplaced priorities

    If the Oklahoma State Legislators and our Governor spent less time interfering in women’s rights to manage their bodies, creating ways to lay more taxes and fees on the middle class in order to generate more tax breaks which benefit only the wealthy while also conceiving methods with which to fill Oklahoma’s for-profit prisons, they would be doing all of us a favor. Instead, why not work to enhance funding for our schools and wage increases for all school employees? While reforming the state’s educational budget, why don’t they approve wage increases for our Oklahoma State Troopers and enlarge their Academy to insure qualified individuals are ready to fill the upcoming vacancies as many of the older force retire?

    April 9, 2014

  • Self government key to keeping politicians in check

    Last week, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled 5-4 that federal campaign laws that limit the total amount of money donors can give to political parties, committees and candidates for federal office (U.S. House, Senate, and President) was unconstitutional. The ruling will not increase the current $2,600 limit on how much a donor can give to a federal candidate in each primary and general election or the $32,400 limit that can go to a national party committee. Those limits are still in place.  The ruling will instead remove the limit on how many candidates/committees to which a donor can contribute.

    April 9, 2014

  • Legislative goals crucial to priorities in education

    I am a member of several professional organizations where I attend regular meetings, network with colleagues, and stay abreast and informed on education best practices.  The Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration, better known as CCOSA, is a nonprofit organization that establishes close and continuous communication and cooperation between educators, taxpayers, and legislators to improve the effectiveness of professional school administrators and to communicate the needs of schools. Attendance this time of year is especially critical because legislators are in session.

    March 28, 2014

  • An impressive ranking that could be better

    That Duncan was named one of the best 15 communities in Oklahoma by Movoto, a national Real Estate company, is news worth celebrating.
    Of 43 places with population of 10,000 or more, as determined by the U.S. Census data, Duncan finished 15th. Norman was first, Edmond second, Yukon and Moore tied for third and Bethany was fifth.

    March 9, 2014

  • Kids shouldn’t have to pay for having punster parents

    Friends and neighbors, I’ve been cloistered in my Thought Chamber for the past few days, contemplating many high-brow philosophies and haughty hypothesis that we who think on a different level use to exercise our finely-tuned minds and remain intellectually superior to the Great Unwashed.
    As you see, the time alone has been intellectually beneficial. I just composed an opening sentence (what we in the journalism dodge call a “lead”) that’s 46 words long.

    March 9, 2014

  • The blissful serenity of No-TV Land

    Life without TV is possible. Maybe you should try it. I did. It’s a do-able thing, I tell you. I’m still here, no worse the wear, no oozing wounds, no serious loss of brainwave activity except for the slow, inexorable downhill decline that already started when TV viewing was a daily occurrence.

    Granted, two months without the tube is quite likely not a scientifically acceptable sample from which is to hold forth. But it’s the best I can do, so deal with it.

    March 9, 2014

Poll

Should the date for The World's Largest Garage Sale be changed from the third weekend in July to sometime in October to take advantage of cooler weather like we had this past weekend?

No. It's better in the summer cause kids are out of school.
Yes. More shoppers would come during nice fall weather.
Either time is fine.

     View Results
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.