The Duncan Banner

Opinion

Opinion
  • Christmas memories a blessing

    Pause for a moment with me today. Forget the last-minute schedule that may soon create a breakneck pace for the rest of the month, Put aside temporarily that long list of things you still must do.
    Relax and enjoy. Take a deep breath. Allow yourself time to rediscover the beauties of the magnificent holiday season that approaches and enables us to share memories of significance. Be grateful for each of those little blessings.
    Focus. Prepare.
    Remember most of all, for Christians Christmas is Christ and the commemoration of His birth through church festivals, family prayers and silent moments of reflection.

    December 22, 2013

  • Christmas ‘double-dippers’ deserve some sympathy

    It wasn’t that I didn’t like Hank Helms — heck, I liked him a lot. We became pals in Miss Kitchen’s fifth-grade class at Lincoln School, where Hank was given the really cool nickname “Double H.” We were buds until Helms moved from my rural Illinois hometown during high school.
    Hank was a bright guy, a funny guy; liked baseball and basketball, was really into scouting. In grade school, he amazed us with two fabulous tricks: First, he could spin three hula hoops at once, from his armpits down to his hips; and second, Double H was double-jointed. When things got boring in class, the grotesque maneuvers Hank could do with his thumbs kept us amazed and in stitches.

    December 22, 2013

  • Answer is same today as it was then

    “DEAR EDITOR: I am 8 years old.
    “Some of my little friends say there is no Santa Claus.
    “Papa says, ‘If you see it in THE SUN it’s so.’
    “Please tell me the truth; is there a Santa Claus?
    “VIRGINIA O’HANLON.
    “115 WEST NINETY-FIFTH STREET.”

    VIRGINIA, your little friends are wrong. They have been affected by the skepticism of a skeptical age. They do not believe except [what] they see. They think that nothing can be which is not comprehensible by their little minds. All minds, Virginia, whether they be men’s or children’s, are little. In this great universe of ours man is a mere insect, an ant, in his intellect, as compared with the boundless world about him, as measured by the intelligence capable of grasping the whole of truth and knowledge.

    December 22, 2013

  • A Christmas ride to remember

    Eighty-year-old Gerald Marlar hasn’t ridden a bicycle regularly for decades, but he and five of his buddies are making certain Duncan children get that opportunity this Christmas.
    It’s just one of many behind-the-scenes stories that makes The Toy Shop, started by Church Women United in 1944, a special place where magical things happen and selfless, giving deeds create bright, toothpaste smiles each holiday season.
    Marlar, Bill Cope, Glen Peterson, Tom Stone, Ron Coon and Joe Norton have become modern day elves, logging hours in The Toy Shop’s busy bicycle room on Ninth Street, assembling two-wheel masterpieces of all sizes and colors for good little boys and girls and adding a dash of love with each one.

    December 8, 2013

  • Whatever you call him, Santa is loved by all

    Boys and girls of all ages, here is some festive poetic verse I know we all have stored in our memory banks. So, feel free to recite along:
    The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow
    gave the luster of mid-day to objects below.
    When what to my wondering eyes should appear,
    but a miniature sleigh, and eight tiny reindeer.
    With a little old driver so lively and quick,
    I knew in a moment it must be Generous Pho Pho...
    Generous Pho Pho?

    December 8, 2013

  • Fiscal impact of state question 766 for counties, schools, and career technology centers

    On November 12, 2012, S.Q. 766 was on a ballot and went to the vote of the people to eliminate tax assessments on intangible personal property. What you might not know is that prior to the vote of S.Q. 766, legislation was already in place to prevent any NEW tax assessments on intangible personal property.

    December 8, 2013

  • City’s new budget our plan for future

    All eyes should be focused on members of the Duncan City Council and its professional staff as work continues in putting together a budget for the upcoming fiscal year.
    It is an important document.
    It is a large document.
    It is an expensive document.
    It affects us all.

    December 8, 2013

  • A word of thanks for unsung heroes

    Conversations the past several days have centered on the weather with emphasis on bitter cold temperatures, treacherous driving conditions, inconvenience and a forecast that calls for little change in the immediate future.
    Now seems an appropriate time to express our appreciation.

    December 8, 2013

  • Affordable healthcare is here

    The Republican Party’s angst against the colloquially named “Obamacare” is probably due to the millions of dollars they have wasted demeaning it. Whether they like it or not, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) can only be reversed if voters become lazy and allow Republicans to gain control of all three branches of our federal government. What both parties should do is look ahead to when the PPACA is fully implemented. Then, evaluate the final results when affordable healthcare for everyone is completed. A negative critique of a project at its inception is a wasteful effort in futility, politically and financially.

    December 4, 2013

  • Ruling is in the hand of God

    Last week the U.S. Supreme Court agreed to hear Sebelius vs. Hobby Lobby, the landmark lawsuit addressing the constitutionally guaranteed rights of business owners to operate their company without violating their religious convictions.  No date has been set for the case to be heard, but it is expected to be decided by June.

    December 4, 2013

Poll

Who do you favor for the U.S. Senate seat that Tom Coburn is giving up?

State Rep. T.W. Shannon, R-Lawton
U.S. Rep. James Lankford, R-Edmond
State Sen. Connie Johnson, D-Oklahoma City
Former State Sen. Randy Brogdon, R-Owasso
     View Results
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs