The Duncan Banner

Opinion

Opinion
  • Boys can still be boys

    You know, the past was seldom as blissful as viewing it through the eyewear of nostalgia makes us believe.
    That said, though, I do believe being a young boy in the 1950s and ‘60s — and probably further back than that — was more fun than it is today.

    January 12, 2014

  • Local film festival deserves applause

    A highlight of the January calendar will take center stage Jan. 24 and Jan. 25 when the Trail Dance Film Festival showcases up-and-coming filmmakers and their work.
    Nearly 100 features will be shown on screens at the L.B. and Ola Simmons Community Activities Center and the Chisholm Trail Heritage Center.

    January 12, 2014

  • Fair & Expo work a sound decision

    The alarm seems positive.  Duncan’s Stephens County Fair & Expo Center, host to a full schedule of activities year round as one of the state’s most active and successful agri-tourism facilities, appears to be a victim of its own success.

    January 12, 2014

  • Companies don’t pay taxes, consumers pay their taxes

    It goes without saying that Oklahoma as a state is very dependent on the energy sector. The oil and gas business provides thousands of jobs across the state. There is a great deal of drilling and exploration in Oklahoma. Part of the reason is because the state legislature lowered the tax on horizontal drilling to one percent from seven percent to encourage more drilling in the state. The reduction is set to expire in July 2015.
    Oklahoma State Speaker of the House T.W. Shannon, (R-Lawton) has announced that he will introduce legislation in the upcoming session to make the one percent tax permanent in order to continue to encourage drilling.

    January 8, 2014

  • PPCA — 6 Million registrants and counting

    While the rollout of the Patient Protection and Affordable Car Act had its problems with both the framing of the ACT, and ongoing daily, weekly opposition to it by a segment of our elected officials and citizens, it is an established law. As with Massachusetts’ healthcare law, the ACA is gaining wider participation each day.
    An example of this was the participation at the healthcare.gov web site from a few thousand on October 1, 2013 to 2 plus Million on Monday, December 23, 2013.
    6 Million Citizens have obtained healthcare coverage through state or federal insurance marketplaces (exchanges) and Medicaid Expansion since the beginning of sign-ups on October 1, 2013. Of this number, 2.1 Million have obtained private health insurance through the marketplaces while 3.9 plus Million have been found eligible for Medicaid. If
    Republican Governors and Legislators in half of the United States had expanded their Medicaid programs, that 3.9 Million figure would now total 8.7 Million insured Americans.

    January 8, 2014

  • Obsessed parents can turn ‘Dream’ into nightmare

    When it comes to youngsters being interested in athletics, “The Dream” can be a good thing — a motivation, a driving force for excellence and achievement.
    But when parents become consumed by turning their child’s dream into their own, “The Dream” can turn into “The Nightmare.”
    Here’s a true story.

    January 5, 2014

  • Dorman a likely candidate

    Joe Dorman, who for the past 11 years has represented District 65 of the Oklahoma House of Representatives that includes the northernmost tip of Stephens County, is serious about seeking the governor’s job.
    He knows running against an incumbent is a challenge.
    He realizes a lot of money must be raised to conduct a reputable campaign.
    He understands a strong economy might prompt many to assume all is well in the Sooner state.

    January 5, 2014

  • Program generosity shows caring, concern

    News of the impending success of the 2013-14 United Way of Stephens County campaign brings to mind a significant point about the place we all call home.
    Duncan and Stephens County are full of generous people.
    You only have to think of the massive volunteer efforts to make clear the point.

    January 5, 2014

  • Celebrating the birth of Christ

    Today we celebrate the birth of Christ. I think the birth, death and resurrection of Christ are the most important events in human history. It is proper we mark and celebrate these events. I recognize that December 25th was probably not the day Jesus Christ was born, but it is the season when the world is more aware of the incarnation of God as man.  The scriptures do not command us to celebrate the birth of Christ, but I believe it presents an amazing opportunity for Christians to present the gospel. Allow me to deviate from my normal political commentary to give you three thoughts on Christmas.

    December 25, 2013

  • Let us love our neighbors and ourselves

    My wife asked me to write an article on the different Christmas celebrations our forefathers brought to the New World. Today, thoughtfully, I find myself unable to get past the social failings and present conditions to which many Americans are subjected.
    Every time I attempted to write about faith and good tidings, I was reminded of the greed and uncaring attitudes of too many of today’s people. The reminders are in our everyday lives and often shown in the actions of those we elected to represent us in government.

    December 25, 2013

Poll

Who do you favor for the U.S. Senate seat that Tom Coburn is giving up?

State Rep. T.W. Shannon, R-Lawton
U.S. Rep. James Lankford, R-Edmond
State Sen. Connie Johnson, D-Oklahoma City
Former State Sen. Randy Brogdon, R-Owasso
     View Results
AP Video
Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston Egypt Clamps Down on Mosques to Control Message After Fukushima, Japan Eyes Solar Power New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict?