The Duncan Banner

Opinion

May 12, 2013

‘Yes’ for streets is the better choice

DUNCAN — None of us want to see our taxes increase, but the deteriorating condition of our streets leaves little option.

Voting “Yes” Tuesday in a special municipal election addresses a serious issue and will enable the City of Duncan to incur indebtedness by issuing $9 million in bonds to construct, reconstruct and improve streets and roads, adjusting ad valorem (property) taxes for the next 10 years to retire the debt.

Good — and safe —  roads are a responsibility of government. Officials we elected have studied available options and have determined the increase in property taxes is the best financing method available. We should follow their lead.

Months ago, we encouraged you to drive around town, to get out of your neighborhood and away from your normal paths. We suggested you see — and feel — the problem for yourself.

If you did, you understand the issue.

If you didn’t, there is still time to make a personal assessment.

We encourage you to do that, just as we encourage you to vote. Polls open Tuesday at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

We share, again, our belief the issue deserves a “Yes” vote and a favorable outcome suggests repairs can begin before year’s end. That’s a good thing.

The Duncan Banner welcomes comment from the public. However, views expressed on The Duncan Banner’s editorial page do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of The Duncan Banner or its employees.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Modern version of ‘Telephone’ hangs up on the truth

    Couple weeks ago, I stopped at a popular morning spot to get a caffeine infusion and encountered a meeting of a chapter of the Coffee Club Geniuses of America.

    July 20, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Zamperini, the Olympian and POW, was a hero because of his faith

    Louis Zamperini collected many accolades as an Olympic distance runner and brave bombardier who spent a month adrift at sea and two years in a Japanese prisoner of war camp. But faith and forgiveness are what truly distinguished him.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Sheriff's helicopter could be put to good use in water crisis

    A story the other day in which Stephens County Sheriff Wayne McKinney explained the advantages of having a helicopter gave me a chuckle.

    July 15, 2014

  • Technoman offers help on combating viruses

    Good day, Earthlings and others inhabiting the third rock from the Sun. Once again, 21st Century Technoman has dropped in to see what condition your condition is in. So, how are you surviving in cyberspace?

    July 15, 2014

  • Territory impressive as well

    For the next seven days, the world of golf will focus on Edmond, Oklahoma in general and Oak Tree National in particular as the revitalized club and course hosts the prestigious 2014 U.S. Senior Open.

    July 6, 2014

  • Our division is not as dire as some insist

    Am having an Independence Day hangover — and no, it’s not because of any libation I may have consumed during the holiday weekend.

    July 6, 2014

  • Election shared few surprises

    There were no significant surprises or huge upsets in last Tuesday’s election,  but there were some twists and turns of interest locally and statewide.

    June 29, 2014

  • Other voices talk about us and our nation

    It’s almost Independence Day and I could wind philosophic and poetic about this country I love and into which I was lucky to have been randomly spawned.

    June 29, 2014

  • Technoman is relishing art of daydreaming

    Friends and neighbors, greetings again from 21st Century Technoman, and please forgive me if it seems I’ve been ignoring those of you who need a little human contact in their otherwise techno-dependent lives.

    June 22, 2014

  • However dubious, Cooter is a famous American

    His name is indelibly etched in the American experience. For generations, his reputation has crossed political, social, ethnic and regional lines.

    June 15, 2014

Poll

Should the date for The World's Largest Garage Sale be changed from the third weekend in July to sometime in October to take advantage of cooler weather like we had this past weekend?

No. It's better in the summer cause kids are out of school.
Yes. More shoppers would come during nice fall weather.
Either time is fine.

     View Results
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.