The Duncan Banner

Opinion

November 3, 2013

Leadership classes set a high standard

DUNCAN — Members of Leadership Duncan Class XVI and Leadership Duncan Class XVII should be proud of the spotlight they shared last week.

Accomplishing class projects – and significant ones – is a tribute to their abilities, their vision, their commitment and their persistence. Culmination of their work embraces the hope of our community that each class member will remain active and involved in meaningful projects and assume positions of future leadership.

After all, that’s a focal point of the Duncan Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s long-standing commitment to the leadership program.

The new black steel bar fencing around the Kiwanis Kiddieland Park inside the City of Duncan’s Fuqua Park is noteworthy for several reasons. It upgrades safety at the storied and almost iconic park. It adds to the beauty of an important landmark facility and embellishes our community’s appearance and sense of pride for passers by.

And it displays vividly the importance of collaboration, illustrating when we pool our resources and our talents, good things can happen.

On a similar note, reaching out to involve our residents in a golf tournament not only benefited Women’s Haven, a United Way agency, and enhanced its efforts to secure an important matching grant, it also increased the awareness of the organization and its mission for assisting victims of domestic violence and/or sexual assault.

Both targets needed attention, so the decisions to forge ahead were timely and appreciated.

Both end results are impressive.

The challenge now is to maintain and build on the momentum and energy generated by the unified effort and hard work. If we’re successful, more and even better stories are on the horizon.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Modern version of ‘Telephone’ hangs up on the truth

    Couple weeks ago, I stopped at a popular morning spot to get a caffeine infusion and encountered a meeting of a chapter of the Coffee Club Geniuses of America.

    July 20, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Zamperini, the Olympian and POW, was a hero because of his faith

    Louis Zamperini collected many accolades as an Olympic distance runner and brave bombardier who spent a month adrift at sea and two years in a Japanese prisoner of war camp. But faith and forgiveness are what truly distinguished him.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Sheriff's helicopter could be put to good use in water crisis

    A story the other day in which Stephens County Sheriff Wayne McKinney explained the advantages of having a helicopter gave me a chuckle.

    July 15, 2014

  • Technoman offers help on combating viruses

    Good day, Earthlings and others inhabiting the third rock from the Sun. Once again, 21st Century Technoman has dropped in to see what condition your condition is in. So, how are you surviving in cyberspace?

    July 15, 2014

  • Territory impressive as well

    For the next seven days, the world of golf will focus on Edmond, Oklahoma in general and Oak Tree National in particular as the revitalized club and course hosts the prestigious 2014 U.S. Senior Open.

    July 6, 2014

  • Our division is not as dire as some insist

    Am having an Independence Day hangover — and no, it’s not because of any libation I may have consumed during the holiday weekend.

    July 6, 2014

  • Election shared few surprises

    There were no significant surprises or huge upsets in last Tuesday’s election,  but there were some twists and turns of interest locally and statewide.

    June 29, 2014

  • Other voices talk about us and our nation

    It’s almost Independence Day and I could wind philosophic and poetic about this country I love and into which I was lucky to have been randomly spawned.

    June 29, 2014

  • Technoman is relishing art of daydreaming

    Friends and neighbors, greetings again from 21st Century Technoman, and please forgive me if it seems I’ve been ignoring those of you who need a little human contact in their otherwise techno-dependent lives.

    June 22, 2014

  • However dubious, Cooter is a famous American

    His name is indelibly etched in the American experience. For generations, his reputation has crossed political, social, ethnic and regional lines.

    June 15, 2014

Poll

Should the date for The World's Largest Garage Sale be changed from the third weekend in July to sometime in October to take advantage of cooler weather like we had this past weekend?

No. It's better in the summer cause kids are out of school.
Yes. More shoppers would come during nice fall weather.
Either time is fine.

     View Results
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.