The Duncan Banner

Opinion

January 8, 2014

Companies don’t pay taxes, consumers pay their taxes

DUNCAN — It goes without saying that Oklahoma as a state is very dependent on the energy sector. The oil and gas business provides thousands of jobs across the state. There is a great deal of drilling and exploration in Oklahoma. Part of the reason is because the state legislature lowered the tax on horizontal drilling to one percent from seven percent to encourage more drilling in the state. The reduction is set to expire in July 2015.

Oklahoma State Speaker of the House T.W. Shannon, (R-Lawton) has announced that he will introduce legislation in the upcoming session to make the one percent tax permanent in order to continue to encourage drilling.

“Some have suggested we should raise this tax or allow it to expire in order to bring more money in to the general fund and grow government,” said Speaker Shannon. “But I don’t believe in the tax more, spend more approach. The current tax rate on horizontal drilling has been doing exactly what it was designed to do: encourage more drilling in Oklahoma. Therefore, I believe we should make this rate permanent and send the message that Oklahoma is a place that welcomes the oil and gas industry, along with the jobs and economic development they bring to our great state.”

Four things to consider:

First, Oklahoma state government is dependent on the energy sector. More than ten percent of the revenue Oklahoma state government receives comes from the oil/gas sector. Last year, that amount was nearly 800 million dollars. Oil and gas, as an industry, contributes more than its fair share to Oklahoma government already. Taxing an industry just because it’s a great source of revenue is short term thinking. Capital is a coward and will go where the business environment is more friendly. Those who think companies will merely pay the tax and more on are foolish.

Second, oil and gas companies don’t pay production taxes; consumers pay taxes. As Steve Forbes often tells his audiences, taxes are a cost, just as paper and laptops are. That means he just passes those costs on to whoever is buying his product. The oil and gas industry just consider taxes a cost of doing business. When government taxes the company, they just take a price increase and the consumer ends up paying more for goods and services. Those who oppose tax cuts either don’t understand simple economics or believe that ‘redistribution’ of wealth leads to economic prosperity. Government can give you no more than they can take away from you, minus a large handling fee.

Third, by its nature, government grows. Government never stops growing. The more revenue that comes in, the more government spends, Thankfully, the Oklahoma state legislature has to ‘balance’ the budget, meaning they can’t spend more than they take in, but consider that Oklahoma government’s budget has grown from 6.6 billion in 2011 to an expected 7.1 billion in 2014-that is under Republican control. While core services can’t be skimped on, you can bet there is plenty of waste in Oklahoma government.

Fourth, we need to find the waste in Oklahoma government. We do that by empowering and funding the State Auditor’s office. Give the Auditor’s office the manpower to find the waste. We know it’s there, but we seem reluctant to actually try to locate it. Oklahoma government should go to a zero-based budget process; where an agency must justify EVERY dime in their budget and not just copy and paste last year’s budget.

Shannon’s proposal is a solid one and the lower tax rate should be made permanent to encourage drilling and exploration in Oklahoma, but even more important is stopping the growth of Oklahoma state government.

Tomorrow evening the Stephens County Republican Party will hold a regular monthly meeting in the Red River Tech Center auditorium. The meeting begins at 7pm.

Steve Fair, 580.252.6284

okgop@aol.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Governor, state Legislature have misplaced priorities

    If the Oklahoma State Legislators and our Governor spent less time interfering in women’s rights to manage their bodies, creating ways to lay more taxes and fees on the middle class in order to generate more tax breaks which benefit only the wealthy while also conceiving methods with which to fill Oklahoma’s for-profit prisons, they would be doing all of us a favor. Instead, why not work to enhance funding for our schools and wage increases for all school employees? While reforming the state’s educational budget, why don’t they approve wage increases for our Oklahoma State Troopers and enlarge their Academy to insure qualified individuals are ready to fill the upcoming vacancies as many of the older force retire?

    April 9, 2014

  • Self government key to keeping politicians in check

    Last week, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled 5-4 that federal campaign laws that limit the total amount of money donors can give to political parties, committees and candidates for federal office (U.S. House, Senate, and President) was unconstitutional. The ruling will not increase the current $2,600 limit on how much a donor can give to a federal candidate in each primary and general election or the $32,400 limit that can go to a national party committee. Those limits are still in place.  The ruling will instead remove the limit on how many candidates/committees to which a donor can contribute.

    April 9, 2014

  • Legislative goals crucial to priorities in education

    I am a member of several professional organizations where I attend regular meetings, network with colleagues, and stay abreast and informed on education best practices.  The Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration, better known as CCOSA, is a nonprofit organization that establishes close and continuous communication and cooperation between educators, taxpayers, and legislators to improve the effectiveness of professional school administrators and to communicate the needs of schools. Attendance this time of year is especially critical because legislators are in session.

    March 28, 2014

  • An impressive ranking that could be better

    That Duncan was named one of the best 15 communities in Oklahoma by Movoto, a national Real Estate company, is news worth celebrating.
    Of 43 places with population of 10,000 or more, as determined by the U.S. Census data, Duncan finished 15th. Norman was first, Edmond second, Yukon and Moore tied for third and Bethany was fifth.

    March 9, 2014

  • Kids shouldn’t have to pay for having punster parents

    Friends and neighbors, I’ve been cloistered in my Thought Chamber for the past few days, contemplating many high-brow philosophies and haughty hypothesis that we who think on a different level use to exercise our finely-tuned minds and remain intellectually superior to the Great Unwashed.
    As you see, the time alone has been intellectually beneficial. I just composed an opening sentence (what we in the journalism dodge call a “lead”) that’s 46 words long.

    March 9, 2014

  • The blissful serenity of No-TV Land

    Life without TV is possible. Maybe you should try it. I did. It’s a do-able thing, I tell you. I’m still here, no worse the wear, no oozing wounds, no serious loss of brainwave activity except for the slow, inexorable downhill decline that already started when TV viewing was a daily occurrence.

    Granted, two months without the tube is quite likely not a scientifically acceptable sample from which is to hold forth. But it’s the best I can do, so deal with it.

    March 9, 2014

  • Cooper’s message is to remain active

    Dr. Kenneth Cooper, the Dallas physician who coined the phrase “aerobics” more than four decades ago, who has become a world leader in physical fitness and who has saved, literally, thousands of lives by promoting the value of an active lifestyle, shared his philosophy of life here last week.

    March 9, 2014

  • Time to take the “B” out of the “Three R’s”

    Our young folks are hitting the stretch drive toward the end of another school year, during which they’ve been taught “Three R’s”, which are not really “r’s” at all.
    In case you missed it, reading is the only one of the “Three R’s” that actually begins with the letter “r.” Writing starts with a “w” and arithmetic begins with the letter “a.” There are two reasons we drop the “w” from “writing” and the “a” from “arithmetic”: 1. For poetic flow in the age-old saying; and, 2. many people have a secret yen to talk like the Beverly Hillbillies.

    February 23, 2014

  • Thank you for lettin’ me be myself again

    Friends and neighbors, hope I don’t sound like the biggest egomaniac since Donald Trump, but you know, I am the most interesting person I’ve ever known.
    Forgive me if — on first blush — that sounds like the most totally self-aggrandizing statement you’ve ever heard. And if you’ve headed to the restroom to express an editorial opinion about the statement above, I’ll stop for a couple minutes.

    February 15, 2014

  • Buzz misfired in Vanity Fair body slam of Duncan

    As the new kid in town, I’m reluctant to leap atop the ramparts to defend the honor of Duncan, Okla., my new adopted hometown.
    But to heck with that. When an out-of-towner comes into your house and soils your rug, it’s on.
    I speak, of course, about the article in Vanity Fair magazine about Duncan and the  killing last year of Chris Lane, the Australian who was gunned down in August.

    January 24, 2014