The Duncan Banner

Opinion

August 10, 2013

A test worthy of citizenship

DUNCAN —

School begins for students in Stephens County either this week or next, so let’s all get in the right frame of mind. Kids, get your thinking caps in order. Parents, or adults, see if you’re smarter than a third, fourth or fifth grader. Challenge yourself to answer the questions that follow.
1.  Who is the vice president of the United States?
2.  How many U.S. Senators are there?
3. Who are U.S. Senators from Oklahoma?
4.  What does the U.S. Constitution do?
5.  What do we call the first 10 amendments to the U.S. Constitution?
6.  What is one right or freedom outlined in the First Amendment?
7.  What did the Declaration of Independence do?
8.  What are the two parts of Congress?
9.  Who is the U.S. Representative for Stephens County and the Fourth Congressional District from Oklahoma?
10.  What is the Supreme Court?
11.  How many justices are on the Supreme Court?
12.  Who is chief justice of the Supreme Court?
13.  How old must citizens be to vote for President? 
14.  Why did colonists come to America?
15.  Name three of the 13 original states.
16.  Who was the “father of our country”?
17.  What did the Emancipation Proclamation do?
18.  Who was president during the Great Depression and World War II?
19.  What was the United States’ main concern during the Cold War?
20.  Name one of the two longest rivers in the United States?
21.  Name one U.S. territory.
22.  What states border Mexico?
23.  What significant event happened Sept. 11, 2001?
24.  Why does the American flag have 13 stripes and 50 stars?
25.  What is the name of the national anthem?
ANSWERS
1.  Joseph R. (Joe) Biden Jr.
2. Each state has two Senators.
3.  Tom Coburn and Jim Inhofe are Oklahoma Senators.
4.  The Constitution defines the government and protects basic rights of Americans.
5.  The first 10 amendments to the Constitution are the Bill of Rights.
6.  Speech, religion, assembly, press and petitioning the government are listed in the First Amendment.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Modern version of ‘Telephone’ hangs up on the truth

    Couple weeks ago, I stopped at a popular morning spot to get a caffeine infusion and encountered a meeting of a chapter of the Coffee Club Geniuses of America.

    July 20, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Zamperini, the Olympian and POW, was a hero because of his faith

    Louis Zamperini collected many accolades as an Olympic distance runner and brave bombardier who spent a month adrift at sea and two years in a Japanese prisoner of war camp. But faith and forgiveness are what truly distinguished him.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Sheriff's helicopter could be put to good use in water crisis

    A story the other day in which Stephens County Sheriff Wayne McKinney explained the advantages of having a helicopter gave me a chuckle.

    July 15, 2014

  • Technoman offers help on combating viruses

    Good day, Earthlings and others inhabiting the third rock from the Sun. Once again, 21st Century Technoman has dropped in to see what condition your condition is in. So, how are you surviving in cyberspace?

    July 15, 2014

  • Territory impressive as well

    For the next seven days, the world of golf will focus on Edmond, Oklahoma in general and Oak Tree National in particular as the revitalized club and course hosts the prestigious 2014 U.S. Senior Open.

    July 6, 2014

  • Our division is not as dire as some insist

    Am having an Independence Day hangover — and no, it’s not because of any libation I may have consumed during the holiday weekend.

    July 6, 2014

  • Election shared few surprises

    There were no significant surprises or huge upsets in last Tuesday’s election,  but there were some twists and turns of interest locally and statewide.

    June 29, 2014

  • Other voices talk about us and our nation

    It’s almost Independence Day and I could wind philosophic and poetic about this country I love and into which I was lucky to have been randomly spawned.

    June 29, 2014

  • Technoman is relishing art of daydreaming

    Friends and neighbors, greetings again from 21st Century Technoman, and please forgive me if it seems I’ve been ignoring those of you who need a little human contact in their otherwise techno-dependent lives.

    June 22, 2014

  • However dubious, Cooter is a famous American

    His name is indelibly etched in the American experience. For generations, his reputation has crossed political, social, ethnic and regional lines.

    June 15, 2014

Poll

Should the date for The World's Largest Garage Sale be changed from the third weekend in July to sometime in October to take advantage of cooler weather like we had this past weekend?

No. It's better in the summer cause kids are out of school.
Yes. More shoppers would come during nice fall weather.
Either time is fine.

     View Results
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.