The Duncan Banner

August 6, 2013

DLT deserves standing ovation

Ed Darling
The Duncan Banner

DUNCAN — Selection of the Duncan Little Theatre as recipient of the Oklahoma Theatre of the Year by the Oklahoma Community Theatre Association adds another star to its already impressive crown.

It is a class act, one worthy of distinction and one that makes a significant cultural contribution through its volunteer efforts to provide a wide variety of quality theatrical entertainment to our area.

Many of its productions, in fact, could easily win acclaim on the road.

Originally an activity of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) in the 1950s, the group reorganized as Duncan Little Theatre in 1981 and has earned its place in the spotlight since. It gets better with age and continues to wow audiences with an assortment of performances, all outstanding.

Its legacy ranks among the state’s most respected and its past is filled with recognition that honors folks like Sharon Burum and Dwayne Brittain, both Hall of Honor and past OCTA president; the Anthony Batchelor Website of the Year Award; Judy Crawford, Charles Hair Volunteer of the Year; Kathy Buxton, OCTA Spotlight; and Brittain, Bill Crawford Memorial Award.

None, however, are more meaningful than the Oklahoma Theatre of the Year. It is the official stamp of excellence at the highest level.  It merits a loud “Bravo!,” a resounding standing ovation and, to each participating, hard-working member on and behind the stage over the years, a sincere thanks.