The Duncan Banner

Local News

April 13, 2014

Republicans will take on Democrats for 2 county commissioners posts

DUNCAN —  Stephens County’s two Democratic county commissioners won’t get a free pass to re-election in the fall.

District 3 Commissioner Dee Bowen and District 1 Commissioner Darrell Sparks each drew a Republican opponent in the Nov. 4 General election.

Ron Smith, 64,  of Duncan, filed his declaration of candidacy for District 3 commissioner on Friday, the final day of the three-day filing period.

Another Republican, David McCarley of Marlow, filed to run for  District 1 commissioner on Wednesday.

 District 2 Commissioner Lonnie Estes, a Republican, took office last year and is not up for-election this year.

Smith and McCarley will be unopposed for their Republican nominations on the June 24 Republican Primary Ballot.

Neither Bowen or Sparks are opposed in the Democratic Primary.

Treasurer Janice Graham and Assessor Cathy Hokit, both Democrats,  did not draw opponents in the June primary or the November general election.

District Attorney Jason Hicks, a Republican, also is unopposed in the Republican Primary and in the Nov. 4 General Election. State Rep. Dennis Johnson, R-Duncan, and State Rep. Scott Biggs, R-Chickasha, also will not be contested for re-election.

 In District 65, the House seat being vacated by State Rep. Joe Dorman, D-Rush Springs, four Republicans and one Democrat have filed candidacies. The Republilcans are Renae Sexton of Apache, Scott Hayes of Elgin, Scooter Park of Devol and Stephen Mills of Rush Springs. Toni Hasenbeck of Elgin was the only candidate to file in the Democratic Primary for the District 65 position.

  The deadline to register to vote in the June 24 party primaries is May 30. Only registered party members may participate in the party primary elections.


Text Only
Local News