The Duncan Banner

October 17, 2013

Cowboys, cowgirls gather for circuit finals

Toni Hopper
The Duncan Banner

DUNCAN — Pro Rodeo cowboy clown Keith Isley met his match in entertainment Wednesday during the autograph signing at the Byford Auto Group dealership at Duncan/Lawton Y.

His competitor? Three year old Ethan Eden, who gave quite the detailed tale of an armadillo. Ethan and Isley’s conversation drew a crowd and by the end of Ethan’s story, everyone was laughing, including Isley, who has won six times, the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association Clown of the Year title.

Contestants and queens for the Chisholm Trail Ram Prairie Circuit Rodeo Finals began arriving in Duncan Wednesday and a few of them gathered at to sign autographs and mingle with anyone who wanted to visit.

At the event were Miss Rodeo Oklahoma Rachel Bergren, Miss Rodeo Kansas Kara Hackney, Miss Rodeo Nebraska Sam Chytka, and Miss Chisholm Trail Stampede and Miss Rodeo Oklahoma Teen Elise Wade. Also, World Champion and NFR qualifier Ryan Jarrett, steer roper; Corey Navarre, bull rider, WNFR qualifier Tate Stratton, bull rider, Scott Grover, announcer, and Isley.

Ethan and his little sister, Madison, 1, came with their parents, Brian and Kristen, who earlier in the day were at the fairgrounds setting up a vendor’s booth.

The rodeo begins at 7:30 p.m. today at the Stephens County Fair & Expo Center and will feature the top rodeo competitors in the three-state circuit — Oklahoma, Kansas and Nebraska — many of whom have already qualified for the National Finals Rodeo that is held in Las Vegas, Nev. The announcer this year is Scott Grover.

Here’s a glance at the pro cowboys and cowgirls by their category who are scheduled for the first performance. Only the top 12 from the circuit get to compete at the three-night event. The only category with more than that is steer roping, which as 15 competitors.

Steer Roping

Brad Starks, Cord Hodge, Dee Kyler Jr., Cecil Wilson, Darin Suit, Justin McKee, Ralph Williams, Brodie Poppino, Rod Hartness, Brad Prather, Mike Chase, J.P. Wickett, Roger Branch, Chet Herren, Rocky Patterson.

Saddle Bronc Riding

Casey McGooden, Ty Hamm, Roper Kiesner, Trell Etbauer, Cole Hatfield, Travis Sheets, Joe Harper, Jordan Furnish, Weston Ireland, Ryan Bestol, Ty Atchison, Joe Lufkin.

Tie Down Roping

Joe Macoubrie, Tylen Layton, Jeff Miller, Garrett Nokes, Clint Carpenter, Cole Wilson, Ryan Bothum, Trell Etbauer, JC King, Bryson Sechrist, Caddo Lewallen, Jerome Schneeberger.

Bareback Riding

Scotty NeSmith, Jerod Johnston, Brody Cooper, Monty Goodwin, Logan Glendy, Johnny Garside, Matt Colin Howell, Naudy Exposito, Justin Lindquist, Brian Leddy, Caine Riddle.

Pick up men will be Shandon Stalls and Butch Braden.

Barrel Racers

June Holeman, Alexia Mehrle, Tana Poppino, Hollie Etbauer, Ashlie Withrow, Kyra Stierwalt, Jessi Eagleberger, Cindy Gillespie, Carol Chesher, Tana Renick, Emily Miller and Gretchen Benbenek.

Bull riding

Chris McCombs, Brennon Eldred, Brayden Nixon, Sam Wyatt, Jesse Pohlmann, Clay Cudmore, Cody Sierks, Bart Miller, Guthrie Murray, Trevor Kastner, Tate Stratton, Sage Steele Kimzey. Bullfighters will be Nathan Harp and Chuck Swisher.

Steer Wrestling

Colt Stearns, Shane Sparks, Ryan Swayze, Cody Charmasson, Chancey Larson, Dean Gorsuch, Justin Smith, Riley Duvall, Trell Etbauer, Jule Hazen, Kyle Irwin, Stockton Graves.

The rodeo is at 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday.