The Duncan Banner

February 18, 2014

Awards to be presented at Chamber banquet

Tyler Boydston
The Duncan Banner

DUNCAN — Duncanites will be gathering to find out who won and celebrate “A Legacy of Leadership” tonight at the Chamber of Commerce Banquet, which starts at 7 p.m. in the Simmons Center.

Nominees for each award are, in alphabetical order:

Woman of the Year: Jan Cole, Demetria Cox, Gina Flesher, Haljean Gillipie, Loisdawn Jones, Cindy Reynolds, Nancy Roop, Haylee Root, Sandy Stewart, Betty Smith, Bonnie Talley and Vicki Vermedahl.

Man of the Year: Kelsey Avants, Ed Darling, Eric Davis, Chris Deal, Jeramy Haas, Michael Harris, Dr. Jimmy Jones, Che’ Miller, Arnold Nelson, Hal Pennington and Curtis Thornton.

Community Improvement: Advanced Medical Supply, Burger King, Byford Auto Group, Dressler’s Academy, Duncan Affordable Housing (2nd Street), Duncan Family Eye Care, Duncan Youth Shelter, Interurban, Leadership Duncan Class XVI (Kiddieland fence), Payne Jewelry, Stockman’s, The 905 (Fuqua Park) and the Library at Elm Terrace Apartments.

Free Enterprise Award: Byford Auto Group, Chisolm Corner Conveniene Stores, Duncan Affordable Housing (2nd Street), Duncan Chamber of Commerce Ambassadors, Janet Peters, the Tiley Group, Triumph Carpet Care, Varai Health and Wilco.

Al Hinshaw Community Spirit Award: Betty Beck, Eric Davis, Duncan Noon Lions Club, Tara Harper, Joe Henderson, Alan and Lisa Huckabaa, Melvin Jones, Reggie Pennypacker, Casey Rain, Betty Smith, Bonnie Talley, Curtis Thornton and The Tilley Group.

The awards recognize and reward members of the communities who improved the quality of life in Duncan in 2013, whether through volunteer work or other contributions.

Entertainment for this year’s show will be Grammy and Emmy nominated trumpet player David B. Hooten and guitarist Edgar Cruz.

Former Lt. Gov. Jari Askins will serve tonight as the mistress of ceremonies for the 350 set to attend.

For more information on the banquet, contact Sandy Stewart at (580) 255-3644.