The Duncan Banner

November 17, 2013

Duncan’s Teacher of the Year award to be presented Tuesday

Derrick Miller
The Duncan Banner

DUNCAN — Nine teacher of the year candidates have been identified. Tuesday, one will be named teacher of the year for Duncan Public Schools.

This year’s candidates include Holly Kelly, Will Rogers Pre-K; Christy Jarboe, Emerson Elementary; Kyle McPherson, Plato Elementary; Cindy Millirons, Woodrow Wilson Elementary; Michelle Spurgin, Mark Twain Elementary; Amy Benton, Horace Mann Elementary; Tammy Bennett, Duncan Middle School; and Denise Clark and Lisa Snider, Duncan High School.

The teacher of the year ceremony is set for 4 p.m. Tuesday at First Baptist Church in Duncan. Superintendent Sherry Labyer will reveal this year’s top teacher. As usual, Labyer will not know the winner prior to the event.

“I think the biggest honor is to be named by their peers and colleagues,” Labyer said.

Each of the teacher of the year candidates were selected by the teachers at their individual schools. From there, the nominees have to put together a portfolio, which goes before the teacher of the year committee.

Labyer said the portfolios not only gives the committee a way to identify ways each teacher stands out, but also gives the nominees a way to remember ways they’ve succeeded in their classrooms, schools and school district.

“They do a lot of reflecting, which is a good thing,” Labyer said.

The day of the event, all of the nominees are given the day off. Area banks host a teacher of the year luncheon to honor the candidates that day, too. Following the ceremony, a reception is held to recognize the teacher of the year and the other candidates.

Labyer said the nominations recognize outstanding teachers throughout the district. For a teacher to be nominated, it means other teachers they work with daily see how much effort they’re putting in to teach Duncan students.

“We want to make those teachers feel special,” Labyer said.