The Duncan Banner

June 3, 2013

Labyer among 2013 District Superintendents of the Year

By The Banner Staff
The Duncan Banner

OKLAHOMA CITY — —  Duncan Public School District Superintendent Sherry Labyer was among the 20 Oklahoma school superintendents who have been recognized as the 2013 District Superintendent of the Year of their respective district by the Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA).

“We congratulate these superintendents for being selected by their colleagues for their service and accomplishments in the education profession,” Steven Crawford, Executive Director of OASA said.  

Labyer, with the other administrators, will be recognized at the OASA awards banquet on Wednesday, June 5 during the Annual Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA) Summer Conference.

Labyer was hired as superintendent for the Duncan district May 14, 2005. She was already an assistant superintendent and became the first female to step into the superintendent’s position. She has been employed by Duncan for 26 years.

They will be honored by colleagues, along with the District Assistant Superintendent/Central Office Administrator of the Year finalists who were also announced this month. The conference will be held June 5-7 at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Convention Center in Norman.

“To be selected a district winner, these administrators are required to meet certain criteria such as maintaining or encouraging high expectations of students and staff, leadership skills, professionalism, involvement in professional activities, and playing an active role in the community,” Crawford said.

The complete list of 2013 OASA District Superintendents of the Year are (with district and school district):

District #1 — Larry Mills, Balko

District #2 — Martin Adams, Buffalo

District #3 — Steve Mendell, Lomega

District #4 — Ann Caine, Stillwater

District #5 — Clark Ogilvie, Owasso

District #6 — Jim Palmer, Vinita

District #7 — Susie Pierce, Moore

District #8 — Jeanene Barnett, Bristow

District #9 — Jeff Pritchard, Seminole

District #10 — James Lyons, Morris

District #11 — Randy Roundtree, Tenkiller

District #12 — Bob Haggard, Arapaho-Butler

District #13 — Randy Batt, Cache

District #14 — Bill Denton, Yukon

District #15 — Sherry Labyer, Duncan

District #16 — Raymond Cole, Wynnewood

District #17 — Jarvis Dobbs, Colbert

District #18 — Rodney Karch, Canadian

District #19 — Ted Brewer, Haworth

District #20 — Phil Waul, Central Technology Center

These 20 superintendents are eligible for the title of 2013 Oklahoma Superintendent of the Year. The state winner will be announced at the CCOSA Summer Conference during the morning general session on June 6. The Oklahoma Association of School Administrators is under the umbrella of the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration. CCOSA is an incorporated, non-profit organization serving over 2800 superintendents, assistant superintendents, principals, special education directors and central office administrators.