The Duncan Banner


June 3, 2013

Labyer among 2013 District Superintendents of the Year

OKLAHOMA CITY — —  Duncan Public School District Superintendent Sherry Labyer was among the 20 Oklahoma school superintendents who have been recognized as the 2013 District Superintendent of the Year of their respective district by the Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA).

“We congratulate these superintendents for being selected by their colleagues for their service and accomplishments in the education profession,” Steven Crawford, Executive Director of OASA said.  

Labyer, with the other administrators, will be recognized at the OASA awards banquet on Wednesday, June 5 during the Annual Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA) Summer Conference.

Labyer was hired as superintendent for the Duncan district May 14, 2005. She was already an assistant superintendent and became the first female to step into the superintendent’s position. She has been employed by Duncan for 26 years.

They will be honored by colleagues, along with the District Assistant Superintendent/Central Office Administrator of the Year finalists who were also announced this month. The conference will be held June 5-7 at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Convention Center in Norman.

“To be selected a district winner, these administrators are required to meet certain criteria such as maintaining or encouraging high expectations of students and staff, leadership skills, professionalism, involvement in professional activities, and playing an active role in the community,” Crawford said.

The complete list of 2013 OASA District Superintendents of the Year are (with district and school district):

District #1 — Larry Mills, Balko

District #2 — Martin Adams, Buffalo

District #3 — Steve Mendell, Lomega

District #4 — Ann Caine, Stillwater

District #5 — Clark Ogilvie, Owasso

District #6 — Jim Palmer, Vinita

District #7 — Susie Pierce, Moore

District #8 — Jeanene Barnett, Bristow

District #9 — Jeff Pritchard, Seminole

District #10 — James Lyons, Morris

District #11 — Randy Roundtree, Tenkiller

District #12 — Bob Haggard, Arapaho-Butler

District #13 — Randy Batt, Cache

District #14 — Bill Denton, Yukon

District #15 — Sherry Labyer, Duncan

District #16 — Raymond Cole, Wynnewood

District #17 — Jarvis Dobbs, Colbert

District #18 — Rodney Karch, Canadian

District #19 — Ted Brewer, Haworth

District #20 — Phil Waul, Central Technology Center

These 20 superintendents are eligible for the title of 2013 Oklahoma Superintendent of the Year. The state winner will be announced at the CCOSA Summer Conference during the morning general session on June 6. The Oklahoma Association of School Administrators is under the umbrella of the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration. CCOSA is an incorporated, non-profit organization serving over 2800 superintendents, assistant superintendents, principals, special education directors and central office administrators.

Text Only
  • School closings

    Duncan, Comanche, Marlow, Central High, Bray-Doyle, Empire and Velma-Alma schools are closed for Monday March 3.

    March 2, 2014

  • Empire FFA Empire FFA champions

    The Waurika P.I. recently held its annual FFA Opening Ceremonies contest at the First Baptist Church in Marlow. Chapters from Stephens and Jefferson County competed for first place and an opportunity to attend the state contest in Stillwater.
    Seventeen teams competed with four coming back for the finals. The Empire FFA ninth grade team came out on top. Team members were Cale Schreiner, Anna Mitchell, Luke Davis, Alexia Newman, Ryley Dumas and Blake Cheatwood.

    November 24, 2013 1 Photo

  • Ryan KerrDFFA Greenhand quiz finalists

    Ryley Dumas of the Empire FFA chapter and Ryan Kerr of the Duncan FFA chapter were two of 50 high school freshmen FFA members from across Oklahoma to qualify for the state finals of the Greenhand Quiz Career Development event held Oct. 21 on the campus of Oklahoma State University in Stillwater.

    November 24, 2013 2 Photos

  • Central High FFA national Central High FFA attends National Convention

    Central High FFA attends National FFA Convention
    A group of 11 students and five adults from Central High left the Tuesday afternoon, Oct. 30 on their journey to the National FFA Convention in Louisville, Ken.

    November 24, 2013 2 Photos

  • Smoke Rings Duncan High yearbook team proves they’re ‘smoking hot’

    Deadlines, staff meetings and presentations are only a few of the reasons the Duncan High School Smoke Rings yearbook staff were awarded with Sweepstakes for the second consecutive year.
    This year’s yearbook “Smoke Rings” and newspaper “Demon Pitchfork” staff attended Fall Media Monday, hosted by Oklahoma Scholastic Media, on Nov. 4 at the University of Oklahoma. Staff members had their choice of various sessions to attend throughout the first part of the day, then awards were announced for the 2012-13 yearbooks.

    November 10, 2013 1 Photo

  • Schools receive A-F report cards

    Most school districts may not be happy about the results of the A-F grading system released Wednesday.
    The Duncan School District received a D+, a grade it shares with the Comanche, Empire and Velma-Alma school districts. Those grades make up half of the school districts in Stephens County.
    Other county results included Grandview with a C, Bray-Doyle with a C+, Marlow with a B- and Central High with an A. Central High was the only school district to receive an A last year.

    November 7, 2013

  • Waurika reacts to state standards

    November 7, 2013

  • Teacher of the Year Candidates Teacher of the Year candidates

    Nine Duncan teachers were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the Duncan School District. And in two weeks one will be selected as Teacher of the Year.
    These nine teachers are this year’s teacher of the year nominees. They include Christy Jarboe, Emerson Elementary; Kyle McPherson, Plato Elementary; Cindy Millirons, Woodrow Wilson Elementary; Michelle Spurgin, Mark Twain Elementary; Amy Benton, Horace Mann Elementary; Tammy Bennett, Duncan Middle School; and Denise Clark and Lisa Snider, Duncan High School.

    November 5, 2013 1 Photo

  • DHS Band at OBA DHS Band places eighth in OBA contest

    Duncan High School Band’s marching season is drawing to a close. And for its final contest, the band placed eighth overall, while giving what Band Director Jeramy Haas referred to as its best performance.
    The band competed in the Oklahoma Band Association (OBA) contest Oct. 26 in Mustang. The contest featured 4A and 5A high school bands from around the state. And the DHS Band was one of the competing bands to make it to finals.

    November 3, 2013 1 Photo

  • 10-27 RRTC Otha Grimes.jpg Otha Grimes Scholarship benefits 10 nursing students

    Ten Red River Technology Center Practical Nursing students were recently awarded the fall Otha Grimes Scholarship by the Oklahoma CareerTech Foundation.

    October 28, 2013 1 Photo