The Duncan Banner

May 23, 2012

Empire FFA chapter holds awards banquet

Staff Writer
The Duncan Banner

DUNCAN — Empire FFA held its annual awards banquet May 8 with a buffet provided by FFA families and the entire chapter.

Special awards were presented to the following:

Chapter Star Farmer (presented for hard work and dedication with supervised agricultural experiences) — Colt Elam, Cassy Hill, Brandon Stogsdill, Kaila Williams

Chapter Star in Placement — Cooper Hill

Chapter Star in Agribusiness — Cole Bridges, for his lawn service business

Star Discovery — Lane Williams

Star Greenhand — Charby Stogsdill, Morgan Strawn

Dekalb Award — Cody Newman, Jaci Vinson

Chapter Sweetheart — Sherre Dewey (eighth-grade member)

Appreciation Award — Connie Elam, Jennifer Ferguson, Rebecca Wilson, Karen Newman

Blue and Gold Sausage Award (for selling the most sausage in the chapter) — Brandon Stogsdill

Chapter Citizenship Award — Cody Newman

The FFA Discovery Degree was awarded to Holden Bailey, Desaree Cotter, Sherre Dewey, Dylan Earnhart, Ethan George, Aubri Lopez, Dakota Lovett, Colbey McCauley, Dakota Pannel, Mayson Phipps, Renee Reaves, Brooklyn Roundtree, Katie Schreiner, Evan Whitt and Lane Williams.

The FFA Greenhand Degree was awarded to Braden Hill, Chase Kimbro, Ronnie Lee, Jose Miranda, Gage Pierce, Zachary Rivera, Charby Stogsdill, Morgan Strawn, Cade Webb and Alyssa George. The FFA Chapter Degree was awarded to Dakota Bilbrey, Cole Bridges, Jessica Carney, David Couch, Makenzie Craig, Colt Elam, Treasury Gauthun, Cassy Hill, Cooper Hill, Kaylee Moore, Trey Skiles, Brandon Stogsdill and Kaila Williams.

The SAE Proficiency Awards were given to Colt Elam (agricultural communications, beef production entrepreneurship, beef production placement, diversified agricultural production, diversified crop, grain production and public speaking), Kaila Williams (agricultural communications, home and/or community development and emerging agricultural technology), Jaci Vinson (agricultural education, equine science entrepreneurship), Tanner Shorter (agricultural mechanics fabrication and design), Andrew Roundtree (agricultural mechanics repair and maintenance), Trey Skiles (agricultural mechanics repair and maintenance and equine science placement), Jesse Riedel (agricultural processing, dairy production, poultry production, sheep production and small animal production and care), Cassy Hill (agricultural sales entrepreneurship, diversified livestock production, goat production and veterinary science), Lane Williams (agricultural sales entrepreneurship, agriscience research plant systems, beef production entrepreneurship, beef production placement and forage production), Charby Stogsdill (agricultural sales placement, agricultural services, beef production entrepreneurship, environmental science and natural resource management, fruit production and vegetable production), Morgan Strawn (diversified horticulture, landscape management, specialty crop production and creed speaking), Cooper Hill (diversified livestock production, forage production, goat production and veterinary science), Sherre Dewey (equine science, outdoor recreation and specialty animal production), Mikka McClain (food science technology), Samantha Moore (food science technology), Makenzie Craig (swine production), Jessica Carney (swine production), Cole Bridges (turfgrass management), and Dakota Bilbrey (wildlife management).

Colt Elam gave a special presentation at the banquet. He presented his speech, which he used to place second in the eighth-, ninth- and 10th-grade division at state competition, “Oklahoma Beef — It’s What’s for Dinner.”

A special gift was given to advisor Bill Cheatwood by the FFA members to show their appreciation for his hard work and support.

At the end of the banquet, the new officers for the coming year were announced. The new Empire Chapter Officers for 2012-13 are: president — Colt Elam; vice president — Tanner Shorter; secretary — Jessica Carney; reporter — Cassy Hill; treasurer — Kaila Williams; sentinel — Cooper Hill; historian — Jesse Riedel; chaplain — Dakota Bilbrey; and parliamentarian — Lane Williams. The new officers preformed their first duties by closing the meeting. The final speaker was President Colt Elam, thanking guests for their attendance.